Page Banner
Program Structure
Enlarge Font | Minimize Font | Bookmark and Share
Last modified: August 27, 2015 11:13:40.

The College of Medicine offers a M.D. degree with a study plan that extends over 6 years. One of the main features of the program is its unique student-centered approach using a blend of teaching and learning approaches that reflect best practices in medical education such as Problem Based Learning, Team Based Learning, Task Based Learning and Virtual Patient Learning. The study program is divided into three phases:

  1. Transition (first year): focuses on the Basic Medical Sciences and Core Curriculum
  2. Integrated Organ Systems (following 2.5 years): foundations of medical sciences and their application to patients
  3. Clerkship (last 2.5 years): Clinical education at hospitals and healthcare centers

PHASE I: “The Transition” (Basic Medical Sciences)  

Year 1 is the interface between high school education and the integrated medical program. It introduces the students to foundations in Human Anatomy, Physiology, Cell Biology, Biochemistry, IT, Medical English and Terminology and Core Curriculum courses.  As an important component throughout a doctor’s career, a “Medical Education” course that focuses on lifelong learning is also offered in this phase.

PHASE II:  Pre-clerkship phase (Integrated Organ Systems) 

In the second phase, which extends throughout years 2 and 3, as well as the first semester of year 4, the focus will shift to the foundations of medical sciences and its application to patients and population care. Clinical skills are mainly acquired in the clinical skills center, using simulated patients and high fidelity simulators for clinical training.

PHASE III: “Clerkship phase” (Hospital Training)

During this phase, which extends from the middle of year 4 to the end of year 6, students will rotate in clerkships (hospital training) in order to ensure exposure to—and experience with—clinical situations, patients and population care. The clinical learning obtained during this phase will be integrated with the knowledge that the students established in the first two phases, which will continue throughout this last phase.

Curriculum Structure

Phases Curriculum Component Number of Courses
Phase 1: Transition Phase University Core Curriculum Program 11
Medical Program General Requirements 2
Phase 2: Pre-Clerkship Phase Pre-Clerkship I Requirements 7
Pre-Clerkship II Requirements 6
Pre-Clerkship III Requirements 2
Phase 3:Clerkship Phase Clerkship I Requirements 3
Clerkship II Requirements 5
Clerkship III Requirements 4
Total: 40