In order to bring you the best possible user experience, this site uses Javascript. If you are seeing this message, it is likely that the Javascript option in your browser is disabled. For optimal viewing of this site, please ensure that Javascript is enabled for your browser.



Al Bairaq Program announces winners | Qatar University

Al Bairaq Program announces winners

Al Bairaq Program announces winners.jpg

Winners of the 8th cycle of the “I am A Researcher” module in Al Bairaq Program were announced by the Center for Advanced Materials (CAM) in an awards ceremony on October 29.

The ceremony followed the presentation of high school students’ projects in front of a panel of judges comprising several heads and directors of leading organizations in Qatar, CAM faculty, representatives of Al Bairaq’s sponsors, and a large number of Grade 12 students and teachers from various high schools in Qatar.

Al Bairaq is supported by UNESCO Doha Office (partner), RasGas (platinum sponsor), Maersk Oil Qatar (gold sponsor) and Shell Qatar (silver sponsor).

Group Quluwa from Omar Bin Al Khattab School comprising Abdullah Al Mohannadi, Abdullah Al Haroon and Abdullah Al-Marri won 1st place with their project “Manufacture of Low-cost CIS Solar Cells”.  The group also won for Best Documentary Film entitled “Our Solar Cell” and for Most Popular Group on Social Media.

In 2nd place was Group Al Dana, comprising Ahmad Jassim, Mohammed Al-Hajri, and Abdullah Alsulaiti from Tareq Bin Ziad School who presented “Preparation and Characterization of Microcapsules Containing Linseed Oil and its use in Self-Healing Coatings”.  Group Al Hasbah comprising Fatma Al-Siddiqi and Maryam Hamed Alyafei from Al Arqam Academy was 3rd place winner.

CAM Director Dr Mariam Al-Maadeed thanked the sponsors and partners for their support and stressed the importance of the Program in building a generation capable of research and development towards achieving Qatar National Vision 2030.

RasGas Head of National Development Mr Thamer AlKaabi said: “RasGas is proud to sponsor for Al Bairaq for the third consecutive year this year as it builds on our commitment for capacity building, national development and quality Qatarization. Al Bairaq provides a unique platform for engaging Qatari secondary students in fields which are critical for the long-term development of their future educational and professional careers”.

Maersk Oil Qatar Deputy Managing Director Sheikh Faisal bin Fahad Al-Thani said: “Maersk Oil Qatar is proud to partner with Qatar University with our sponsorship of Al-Bairaq.  The scientific and technical education for students together with a focus on research and innovation are closely aligned with our commitment to building the skills and capacity in future generations equipped to deliver a strong, diversified and healthy knowledge economy in Qatar”.  

Qatar Shell Research and Technology Center University Collaboration Manager Maha Al-Mannai said: "By sponsoring the Al Bairaq Program and the eighth season of ‘I am a researcher’, Qatar Shell continues to demonstrate its commitment to Qatar University, while engaging in the transfer of knowledge and sharing of best practices with the country’s student population”.

UNESCO Doha Office Education Programme Specialist Dr Faryal Khan said: Al Bairaq offers a vibrant platform to potential young scientists – girls and boys alike – to explore a career in science. It plants a seed in their young minds to help make choices in pursuing a scientific career. Other countries in the region can learn important lessons from the Al Bairaq experience at Qatar University. UNESCO is proud to be a partner in this important initiative.

Al-Bairaq supervisor Dr Noora Al-Thani stated that the program was able to create an innovative eco-system, encouraging the students in the love of science and research and development.

The ceremony also awarded winners in the Art in Science competition – Group Eqmash, Omar Bin Al Khattab School; Instagram competition – Group Al Fas, Omar Bin Abdulaziz School; and Most Active Group on Social Media – Group Al Dana, Tareq Bin Ziad School.  CAM associate researcher Dr Aboubakr Abdullah was named Best Professor while Ms Eman Hassan from Al Arqam Academy was named Most Cooperative Teacher.